Philippine Travel Ban For Travelers From These Countries

Philippine Travel Ban For Travelers From These Countries

A Philippine Travel Ban has been applied to Travelers in light of a new variant of COVID-19.  The new variant called VUI 202012/01 was first detected in the UK (United Kingdom) in December 2020, as well as another variant in South Africa.   Cases have since been identified in some of the 35 Countries in the Philippine Travel Ban.

This variant is quicker to transmit than the original source virus.  It also poses a higher risk to children.  They may not get the full symptoms but they are more likely to catch the virus and pass it to others.

In the Philippines more has been done to protect children and the elderly with stricter quarantine and lock-down rules than in other countries.  The regular updates to the Philippine Travel Ban has played no small part in these strict lockdowns. And the Philippine Government has been quick to act, yet again, on this latest virus update.

They have imposed, or maintained, travel bans on foreign nationals coming from the following countries:-

  • Austria
  • Australia
  • Brazil
  • Canada
  • Denmark
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Hong Kong, SAR
  • Hungary – from 00.01am 17th January 2021
  • Iceland
  • India
  • Ireland
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Jamaica – from 00.01am 13th January 2021
  • Japan
  • Jordan
  • Lebanon
  • Luxembourg – from 00.01am 13th January 2021
  • Norway
  • Oman – from 00.01am 13th January 2021
  • Pakistan – from 00.01am 13th January 2021
  • Portugal
  • Singapore
  • South Africa
  • South Korea
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • The Netherlands
  • The People’s Republic of China – from 00.01am 13th January 2021
  • United Arab Emirates – from 00.01am 17th January 2021
  • United Kingdom
  • United States of America


The travel ban is from 30th December 2020 until 31st January 2021.  Travelers who were already in transit and arriving before 10th January 2021 from Austria will not be blocked from entering the Philippines.

The travel ban also does not affect returning Filipino citizens (OFW’s).

It is expected that the travel ban could be extended past 31st January 2021.  And other countries may also be added to the list.


Passengers Not Affected by the Philippine Travel Ban

The Bureau of Immigration has released the following infographics to help advise who can, and who can’t travel to the Philippines:-


International Tourism remains closed.  But the Philippine Government has opened the borders to foreign nationals from outside of the 33 Banned Countries, traveling with Filipino spouses and children, and those holding a Balikbayan Visa, under the Republic Act No. 6768:

  • Filipino citizens’ foreign spouses and children, regardless of age, who are traveling with the Filipino citizen;
  • Former Filipino citizens, including their spouses and children, regardless of age, who are traveling with the Filipino citizen.
  • Foreign crew members, foreign government and International Organization officials accredited to the Philippines shall be allowed entry.
  • Land, air, and sea travel of uniformed personnel for official business, especially those transporting medical supplies, laboratory specimens, related to COVID-19, and other humanitarian assistance, shall be allowed.

As above, all will be required to undergo a 14-day quarantine at an “absolute facility-base” and have a negative RT-PCR Test Result.

Check our article What Are Airlines Doing For Traveler Peace Of Mind?

What do you think?

Written by My Ranggo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

GIPHY App Key not set. Please check settings

One Comment

Stelliers Award Poster 2020 and a photo of Rey Moraga in a black jacket and white shirt, standing in front of Raffles Grand Hotel Siem Reap

Filipino Awarded Hotelier Of The Year

Two people with phones on a google map background, and a search bar

Why You Need To Perfect Your Restaurant’s ‘Near Me’ Ranking