Domestic Tourism Hotspots

Domestic Tourism Hotspots.

Domestic Tourism is being pushed heavily by the Philippines Department of Tourism to try to boost an industry bounce back after 7 months of closure.  Whilst we can see daily evidence on the DOT’s Facebook posts of foreign travelers desperate to visit, International Tourism most likely won’t re-launch until the 2nd quarter of 2021.

Here’s MY RANGGO’s guide to which destinations are open to Domestic Tourism as of October 2020.  We recommend that you check out any travel requirements, with the local tourism offices or LGU’s ahead of travel.  Most are posting the travel requirements on their Facebook Pages and websites.


Domestic Tourism Destinations Open To Tourists From GCQ & MGCQ Areas:

  • Anilao Dive Sites (Batangas)
  • Boracay


Palm Trees and sea on Boracay's famous White Beach
Boracay’s White Beach – see it at its emptiest!


Domestic Tourism Destinations Open To Domestic Tourists

  • Batangas
  • Cavite
  • Cotabato City
  • Laguna
  • Pampanga
  • Rizal
  • Subic
  • South Cotabato
  • Sultan Kudarat
  • Tagaytay


Domestic Tourism Destinations Open To Residents & Same Region Tourists Only:

  • Aklan (excluding Boracay)
  • Antique
  • Baguio
  • Capiz
  • Davao City (Davao Region only)
  • Davao de Oro (Davao Region only)
  • Davao del Norte (Davao Region only)
  • Davao del Sur ((Davao Region only & Loay open to residents only)
  • Davao Oriental (Davao Region only)
  • Ilocos Norte (including Laoag) – (residents from Luzon only)
  • Ilocos Sur (including Vigan, also open to Baguio residents)
  • Iloilo
  • La Union (excluding Urbiztondo Beach Area)


Domestic Tourism Destinations Open To Residents Only:

  • Abra
  • Agusan del Norte – Cabadbaran City
  • Albay (including Legazpi)
  • Apayao
  • Baler, Aurora
  • Bataan
  • Benguet
  • Biliran
  • Bohol
  • Bukidnon
  • Cagayan
  • Camarines Norte
  • Camarines Sur
  • Catanduanes
  • Cebu
  • Clark Freeport Zone
  • Coron
  • Dinagat Islands
  • Eastern Samar
  • El Nido
  • General Santos City
  • Guimaras
  • Isabela – Open to residents only
  • Lanao del Norte
  • Leyte
  • Masbate
  • Misamis Occidental
  • Misamis Oriental
  • Negros Occidental (including Bacolod)
  • Negros Oriental
  • Northern Samar
  • Nueva Ecija
  • Nueva Vizcaya
  • Occidental Mindoro
  • Oriental Mindoro
  • Pangasinan (local tourists from MGCQ areas only)
  • Pangasinan Hundred Island National Park
  • Port Barton
  • Puerto Galera
  • Puerto Princesa
  • Quirino
  • Quezon
  • Romblon
  • San Vicente
  • Sarangani – Open to residents of each municipality only
  • Siquijor
  • Surigao del Norte
  • Siargao (except those from municipalities with cases)
  • Surigao del Sur (except those from municipalities with cases)
  • Sorsogon
  • Tacurong City
  • Tarlac
  • Urbiztondo Beach Area, San Juan open to La Union residents only
  • Zambales (including Olongapo)
  • Zamboanga del Norte
  • Zamboanga del Sur
  • Zamboanga Sibugay


Remember to check out any Domestic travel requirements, with the local tourism offices or LGU’s ahead of travel.  Their Facebook Pages are usually a good starting point.


What do you think?

Written by My Ranggo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

GIPHY App Key not set. Please check settings

MY RANGGO Sentiment Survey: Impact of COVID-19 & ECQ on the Philippine Hospitality & Tourism Industry

Sentiment Survey: The Effects Of COVID-19 On Hospitality & Travel Industry Staff And Owners

Article image featuring a hotel. Article covers the Philippine Department of Tourisms announcement that hotels can open with 100% capacity if in GCQ or MGCQ areas

Hotels To Operate At 100% Capacity